My First Hacktoberfest!!

My First Hacktoberfest!!

Hi!! everyone. In this blog, going to share "What new things I learned while contributing", "What were the challenges faced during contributing Hacktoberfest ⬇️. oJ7mKaaj_400x400.jpg

How I got to know about Hacktoberfest.

So their are so many resources like Blogs, Threads, twitter spaces and many more. I personally came to know about Hacktoberfest by joining twitter spaces I want to get started with the open source contribution and saw that their is this opportunity coming. So I participated in Hacktoberfest not for the swag but for providing value to someone's project through contribution.

Before going to main topics I have wrote a thread about how to participate and contribute in Hacktoberfest

🧵Thread on..
How to contribute in Hacktoberfest as a beginner.⬇️

— omkar🚀 (@ORamishte) Twitter

finding issue and contributing

Most important task I would say is that is to find good first issue thats matches with my techstacks, and delivery of output desired. So my first issue was to build an about us page to provide what are the feature and service they provide for stray animal. And here is a glimpse of this.

image.png

this project specially when I started contributing the techstack use were only html CSS and JavaScript. But now this project has grown so much it works on react also has an backend for collecting data and who wants to contact if their is an emergency or need any help for stray animals and also we can adopt stray animals. After this contributing it feels great. So the next issue was assigned it was basically to create an newsletter subscription.

Now the challenges faced while contributing is:

Large Codebase, cause I am not use to larger code, to get familiar with codebase it took like an hour to understand which things are connect to which one also it was on react and I have never done react before. So this was the main challenge faced. Other than that I also learned about tailwind css which is useful framework of CSS and also learned about react how to start react what are the command how to link all this.

Total PR's made was around 10 in which 6 of this was accepted by Hacktoberfest. Glad to participate in Hacktoberfest to get started in opensource and continuing contributing.

Happy Hacking